Tour de France (17e étape) : Ben O’Connor 5e

Ben O’Connor : « Proud of my performance »

“I felt really good today and I’m proud of my performance. I tried to follow Tadej Pogacar and Jonas Vinegaard but it was not possible. I did succeed in grabbing a few seconds in the general classification. For tomorrow’s stage, everyone will try to do their best … As was the case today. Tadej is a tone above. Tomorrow’s stage is short and the level of the rest of us fighting for places in the general classification is pretty equal. We’ll see if it’s possible to take some time.”Ben

The number

5

Ben O’Connor retains 5th place overall. He is now just 17 seconds behind 4th place, Rigoberto Uran. Aurélien Paret Peintre is 4th place in the best young rider classification and the AG2R CITROËN team is in third in the team classification. Dorian Godon, meanwhile, spent July 14th in the breakaway. “We tried to get as far ahead as possible. As a break of six, we worked well together on the flats, and handled the climbs alright. That last climb I managed to do with what energy I had left,” said Dorian Godon.

The news

Thomas Delphis, Paul Lapeira and Valentin Retailleau join the team as stagiaires beginning August 1st

Thomas Delphis, 22, French U23 time trial champion in 2020, Paul Lapeira, 21, third in the 2021 French Amateur Championship, who has signed a professional contract for two seasons beginning January 1, 2022, and Valentin Retailleau will be stagiaires for the AG2R CITROËN team beginning on August 1st. All three of them currently wear the colors of our AG2R CITROËN U23 team, the Chambéry Cyclisme Formation.

Tour de France (17e étape) : Ben O’Connor 5e

Ben O’Connor : « Fier de ma performance »

«Je me sentais vraiment bien aujourd’hui et je suis fier de ma performance. J’ai essayé de suivre Tadej Pogacar et Jonas Vinegaard mais ce n’était pas possible. Je grappille quelques secondes au classement général. Pour l’étape de demain, tout le monde essaiera de faire de son mieux… Comme c’était le cas aujourd’hui. Tadej est un ton au dessus. L’étape est courte et le niveau pour les places au classement général est homogène. On verra si il y a du temps à prendre. »Ben

Le chiffre

5

Ben O’Connor conserve la cinquième place du classement général. Il n’est désormais plus qu’à 17 secondes du quatrième, Rigoberto Uran. Aurélien Paret Peintre est quatrième du classement des jeunes et l’équipe AG2R CITROËN pointe à la troisième place du classement par équipes. Dorian Godon, pour sa part, a passé le 14 juillet dans l’échappée. « On a essayé de prendre un maximum d’avance. A six, cela a bien tourné dans la plaine et plutôt bien géré les ascensions. J’ai essayé de revenir sur Anthony Perez puis j’ai fait la dernière montée avec ce qu’il me restait d’énergie », dit Dorian Godon.

L’info

Thomas Delphis, Paul Lapeira et Valentin Retailleau stagiaires à partir du 1er août

Thomas Delphis, 22 ans, champion de France U23 du contre-la-montre en 2020, Paul Lapeira, 21 ans, troisième du Championnat de France amateurs 2021, qui a signé un contrat professionnel pour deux saisons à partir du 1er janvier 2022, et Valentin Retailleau seront stagiaires de l’équipe AG2R CITROËN à partir du premier août.
Ils portent actuellement tous les trois les couleurs de notre centre de formation AG2R CITROËN U23, le Chambéry Cyclisme Formation.