Classic Grand Besançon Doubs, Tour du Jura, Tour du Doubs (September 3-4-5)

Larry Warbasse « We have a strong team »

« I am happy to have been part of the team which helped Benoît Cosnefroy to win the Bretagne Classic Ouest France. It was a good time. We all worked well and Benoît was so strong. I will now participate in three great races for the first time, which I am told are tough and well organized. We have a strong team, which means we should play a leading role. It’s motivating. I will also be competing in the Italian races at the end of the season and I can’t wait. I have worked hard this season and have yet to perform as I expected. I hope to be in good shape to get a result.»Larry

The number

5

Five riders from the AG2R CITROËN TEAM will take part in the European Championships which will take place in Trentino, Italy, from September 8 to 12. Aurélien Paret-Peintre and Benoît Cosnefroy riding for France, Jaakko Hanninen for Finland and Stan Dewulf with Belgium will compete in the road race. Alexis Gougeard has been selected for the mixed team relay event with France. Note the presence of three stagiaires from the AG2R CITROËN TEAM, members of the AG2R CITROËN U23 TEAM, in the French U23 selection. Paul Lapeira and Valentin Retailleau will take the start of the road race and Thomas Delphis will participate in the time trial.

The news

La Vuelta a Espana (17th stage): Clément Champoussin 10th

Clément Champoussin finished 10th at the end of the 17th stage of La Vuelta a Espana. He moves up to 18th place in the general classification. “It was really tough with the climbs, as well as the technical descents in the rain. I tried to hold on as well as I could, then rode my own pace the last few kilometers so as not to explode. I was not well in the first stages but now things are getting better and better. I hope I can finish La Vuelta a Espana strongly. I have made progress compared to last year, especially on big set piece stages like today’s,” said Clément Champoussin. Geoffrey Bouchard finished 19th on the stage. He is 17th in the general classification. After three stages of the Benelux Tour, Oliver Naesen occupies 29th place in the general classification, 1’22’’ behind the leader.

Classic Grand Besançon Doubs, Tour du Jura, Tour du Doubs (3-4-5 septembre)

Larry Warbasse « Nous alignons une équipe forte »

« Je suis heureux d’avoir fait partie de l’équipe qui a aidé Benoît Cosnefroy à remporter la Bretagne Classic Ouest France. C’était un bon moment. Nous avons tous bien travaillé et Benoît était si fort. Je vais maintenant découvrir trois belles courses dont on me dit qu’elles sont dures et bien organisées. Nous avons une équipe forte, qui devrait jouer les premiers rôles. C’est motivant. Je vais disputer les courses italiennes en fin de saison et je suis impatient. J’ai beaucoup travaillé cette saison et je n’ai pas encore réussi la performance que j’escomptais. J’espère être en forme pour y parvenir. »Larry

Le chiffre

5

5 coureurs de l’équipe AG2R CITROËN participeront aux championnats d’Europe qui auront lieu dans le Trentin en Italie du 8 au 12 septembre. Aurélien Paret-Peintre et Benoît Cosnefroy sous les couleurs de la France, Jaakko Hanninen pour la Finlande et Stan Dewulf avec la Belgique disputeront la course en ligne sur route. Alexis Gougeard a été retenu quant à lui pour l’épreuve de relais par équipes mixte avec la France. À noter la présence des trois stagiaires de l’équipe AG2R CITROËN, membre d’AG2R CITROËN U23 TEAM, dans la sélection française espoirs. Paul Lapeira et Valentin Retailleau prendront le départ de la course en ligne sur route et Thomas Delphis participera au contre-la-montre.

L’info

La Vuelta a Espana (17e étape) : Clément Champoussin 10e

Clément Champoussin termine 10e de la 17e étape de La Vuelta a Espana. Il remonte à la 18e place du classement général. « C’était vraiment dur avec les ascensions, ainsi que les descentes techniques sous la pluie. J’ai essayé de m’accrocher au maximum, puis je suis monté au train les derniers kilomètres pour ne pas exploser. Je n’étais pas bien sur les premières étapes et ça va de mieux en mieux. J’espère pouvoir bien finir La Vuelta a Espana. J’ai progressé par rapport à l’année dernière, surtout sur de grandes étapes de montages comme celle d’aujourd’hui, » souligne Clément Champoussin. Geoffrey Bouchard termine 19e de l’étape. Il est 17e du classement général.