E3 Saxo Bank Classic : Oliver Naesen 4th / Greg Van Avermaet 6th

OLIVER NAESEN : “Very motivated for what’s to come.”

“What a race! I am happy with my level of fitness for this race, but we came up against someone stronger than we were. It was a real pleasure to have the two of us working together at the front of the race. But I don’t think there was much more we could have done against Asgreen. When I saw him go, I knew I had to go too, but I couldn’t follow. With this fourth place, I am off to a good start for this period that will lead us next week to the Ronde Van Vlaanderen. I’m very motivated for what’s to come, starting on Sunday with Gent-Wevelgem where I already took third place in 2019.”

GREG VAN AVERMAET : “Happy to be there in the key moments.”

“It was a good day. I was really happy to be able to follow the best riders in the key moments. There were two of us in the final with Oliver, but we couldn’t follow Asgreen’s attack. Earlier on the Taaienberg it was important to stay calm and we were able to restore the situation. We are getting closer and closer to a very big result, and I have confidence for the races to come.”

JULIEN JURDIE : “Important ton answer “present”.”

“We had a great race. We were really close to the podium today, but it was most important to be present and active for this E3, which is one of the best races of the season. We had a little scare on the Taaienberg 80 kilometers from the finish but we were able to correct our situation. Tactically, we played it well. Make way for the next races.”

The number

8

In four appearances in the E3 Saxo Bank Classic, Oliver Naesen has never finished lower than 8th place (2019). He took 3rd place in 2017 for his debut in our colors before finishing 4th as well in the 2018 edition.

The news

Acromioclavicular disjunction for Vendrame

Andrea Vendrame fell in the first stage of the week Copi e Bartali on March 23, an event in which he participated with the Italian team. He suffers from an acromioclavicular disjunction of his left shoulder. He will do home trainer workouts for eight to fifteen days depending on the evolution of the healing.

E3 Saxo Bank Classic : Oliver Naesen 4e / Greg Van Avermaet 6e

OLIVER NAESEN : “Très motivé pour la suite”

“Quelle course ! Je suis heureux de mon état de forme sur cette épreuve, mais nous sommes tombés sur plus forts que nous. C’était un vrai plaisir d’être à deux à l’avant de la course, mais je crois qu’il n’y avait pas grand chose à faire contre Asgreen. Quand je l’ai vu partir, je savais qu’il fallait y aller mais je ne pouvais pas suivre. Avec cette quatrième place, j’entame parfaitement la période qui nous mènera la semaine prochaine au Ronde Van Vlaanderen. Je suis très motivé pour la suite, à commencer dimanche par Gent-Wevelgem où j’ai déjà pris la troisième place en 2019.”

GREG VAN AVERMAET : “Heureux d’être là dans les moments clés.”

“La journée était bonne. J’étais vraiment heureux de suivre les meilleurs coureurs dans les moments clés. Nous étions deux dans le final avec Oliver, mais nous n’avons pas pu suivre l’attaque de Asgreen. Un peu plus tôt dans le Taaienberg, il était important de rester calme et nous avons pu rétablir la situation. Nous tournons autour d’un très gros résultat, j’ai confiance pour les courses à venir.”

JULIEN JURDIE : “Important de répondre présent.”

“Nous avons eu une belle course, nous restons au pied du podium aujourd’hui mais c’était important de répondre présent pour ce E3 qui est l’une des plus belles courses de la saison. Nous avons eu une petite frayeur dans le Taaienberg à 80 kilomètres de l’arrivée mais nous avons su rectifier le tir. Tactiquement, nous avons bien joué.
Place à la suite.”

Le chiffre

8

En quatre participations au E3 Saxo Bank Classic, Oliver Naesen n’a jamais terminé plus loin que la 8e place (2019). Il avait pris la 3e place en 2017 pour ses débuts sous nous couleurs avant de terminer quatrième comme cette année lors de l’édition 2018.

L’info

Disjonction acromio claviculaire pour Vendrame

Andrea Vendrame a chuté lors de la première étape de la semaine Copi e Bartali le 23 mars, épreuve à laquelle il participait avec la sélection italienne. Il souffre d’une disjonction acromio claviculaire de l’épaule gauche. Il effectuera des entraînements sur home trainer pour une durée de huit à quinze jours en fonction de l’évolution de la douleur.