Flèche Wallonne (April 21)

AURÉLIEN PARET-PEINTRE : “The Flèche Wallonne is part of the history of cycling”

” I had good feelings at the Amstel Gold Race and just missed my sprint. We now aim ourselves toward the Flèche Wallonne where we have the highest ambitions since the final is a place where Benoît Cosnefroy can be very competitive. I really want to put myself in the role of the strongest teammate to place him in the best possible position at the foot of the Mur de Huy. The Flèche Wallonne is a race that is decided in the last two minutes of effort, and it has been very rare in recent years to see an attack anticipating those final steep moments to succeed at the end. This is my second participation. I like this kind of race because it feels that it is a part of the history of cycling even if there will be few fans on the side of the road. Every year beautiful images result that echo and enhance the special atmosphere that accompanies this race. Liège-Bastogne-Liège suits me better with longer climbs. I will surely have a free role to try to get myself to the front of that race.”AURÉLIEN PARET-PEINTRE

The news

Bob Jungels out of Flèche Wallonne and Liège-Bastogne-Liège

As a result of his crash on Sunday at the Amstel Gold Race, Bob Jungels suffered a slight cranial trauma without any symptoms. However, in the course of his training session this Monday, it was apparent that Jungels had not fully recovered. Therefore the medical advisors for the AG2R Citroën Team, in agreement with Bob Jungels, decided to observe a one-week rest period that will require him to miss Flèche Wallonne (April 21) and Liège-Bastogne-Liège (April 25).
"I am very disappointed because these two races are among the most important events of the season. But at the moment, it is more prudent for me not to race such demanding events," Bob Jungels explained. He will be replaced by Lawrence Naesen.

The number

2

Benoît Cosnefroy finished second in the Flèche Wallonne in 2020. This will be his fourth participation. Hampered by knee pain at the beginning of the season, this will be only his seventh race day this year. He finished eighth at the Flèche Brabançonne last Wednesday.

The news

Training camp in the Alps from May 14 to 22

Greg Van Avermaet, Oliver Naesen, Benoît Cosnefroy, Michaël Schär, Clément Venturini and Dorian Godon will be at a training camp in the Alps from May 14 to 22.

Flèche Wallonne (21 avril)

AURÉLIEN PARET-PEINTRE : “La Flèche Wallonne fait partie de l’histoire du cyclisme”

“« J’avais de bonnes sensations dans l’Amstel Gold Race et j’ai raté mon sprint. On se projette désormais sur Flèche Wallonne où on a les ambitions les plus élevées avec un final où Benoît Cosnefroy est très à l’aise et je me mettrai vraiment dans un rôle d’équipier pour le placer le mieux possible au pied du Mur de Huy. La Flèche Wallonne est une course qui se joue dans les deux dernières minutes d’effort et il est rare ces dernières années qu’un mouvement d’anticipation aille au bout. C’est ma deuxième participation. J’aime ce genre de course car on sent qu’elle fait partie de l’histoire du cyclisme même s’il n’y a pas de public. Chaque fois, ce sont de belles images qui remontent à la surface avec une atmosphère spéciale. Liège-Bastogne-Liège me correspond mieux avec des ascensions plus longues. J’aurai sûrement un rôle d’électron libre pour essayer de me projeter à l’avant. “AURÉLIEN PARET-PEINTRE

L'info

Bob Jungels forfait pour la Flèche Wallonne et Liège-Bastogne-Liège

Lors de sa chute dimanche lors de l’Amstel Gold Race, Bob Jungels a été victime d’un léger traumatisme crânien sans aucun symptômes. La séance d’entrainement réalisée ce lundi a montré que le coureur n’avait pas totalement récupéré. Le service médical de l’équipe AG2R CITROËN Team en accord avec Bob Jungels a décidé de lui faire observer une période de repos d’une semaine qui l’oblige à déclarer forfait pour la Flèche Wallonne (21 avril) et Liège-Bastogne-Liège (25 avril).
"Je suis très déçu car ces deux courses font partie des moments importants de la saison. À l’heure actuelle, il est plus prudent de ne pas disputer des épreuves aussi exigeantes ", dit Bob Jungels.
Il sera remplacé par Lawrence Naesen.

Le chiffre

2

Benoît Cosnefroy a terminé deuxième de la Flèche Wallonne en 2020. Ce sera sa quatrième participation. Gêné par une douleur au genou en début de saison, il disputera son septième jour de course. Il a terminé huitième de la Flèche Brabançonne mercredi dernier.

L'info

Stage dans les Alpes du 14 au 22 mai

Greg Van Avermaet, Oliver Naesen, Benoit Cosnefroy, Michaël Schär, Clément Venturini et Dorian Godon seront en stage dans les Alpes du 14 au 22 mai.