Giro d’Italia (May 8-30)

Laurent Biondi presents the riders who will be present in Turin on May 8th.

FRANCOIS BIDARD

29 years old
5th participation
Best results:
30th GC and 6th in a stage (2019)

“Francis knows the Giro well and he will be a valuable asset for those who are preparing to discover the race. At ease in the mountains, he can slip into a breakaway to aim for a stage victory. He is an important part of the team especially during those the difficult times everyone faces in a three week race.”

GEOFFREY BOUCHARD

29 years old
2nd participation
Best results:
55th GC and 7th in a stage (2020)

“Though Geoffrey turned pro pretty late, he has already won the King of the Mountains jersey at the Vuelta in 2019, which was his first Grand Tour. He is coming to the Giro in excellent condition, as he already proved recently at the Tour des Alpes (11th). He can certainly look to take a stage victory and finish high in the general classification.”

CLÉMENT CHAMPOUSSIN

22 years old
1st participation

“After racing the Vuelta last year, which had just 18 stages, Clément will continue his Grand Tour education on the roads of the Giro. He is going to the race without a specific objective in the general classification, even if he will be among the protected riders. We have already seen at the beginning of the season that he has very good qualities and the temperament to win at the professional level.”

TONY GALLOPIN

32 years old
3rd participation
13 victories as a pro
Best results: 2nd in a stage (2019)

“Tony had a series of health problems last year. But after a good winter, we have already seen him at the front on some races, including the UAE Tour. He’s a rider with a lot of experience, a good road captain, and he is definitely still capable of doing great things. After taking stages at the Tour de France and La Vuelta, he dreams of a victory at the Giro.”

ALEXIS GOUGEARD

28 years old
1st participation
11 victories as a pro

“Though he has been a professional since 2014, Alexis will be riding the Giro for the first time. He has a lot of experience racing Grand Tours and has already taken a stage win at the Vuelta. He is a generous rider who never shies away from joining the breaks. He can definitely win a stage and he is excellent at protecting the best-placed riders.”

LAWRENCE NAESEN

228 years old
1st participation

“Lawrence is about to participate in his first three-week race. An expert at racing the northern classics, he will be very useful for the team during those nervous flatter stages where it is important to protect our leaders. This first Grand Tour in his career should allow him to build a foundation for the future.”

ANDREA VENDRAME

26 years old
4th participation
2 victories as a pro
Best results:
50th GC (2020) and 2nd in a stage (2019);

“Andrea is still young but he has already raced the Giro three times. He came very close to the victory in 2019. Last year at the Giro, he was often among the top five sprinters in the pack, but he is also comfortable climbing as well. He is always very motivated to do well at his national tour.”

LARRY WARBASSE

30 years old
4th participation
2 victories as a pro
Best results:
17th GC and 5th in a stage (2020)

“Larry lived for a while in Italy and has a strong attachment to this country. Last year, he succeeded in having a beautiful Giro finishing in 17th place overall. He will be keen to repeat this kind of performance. In the past, he has proved that he is able to win at the WorldTour level, so why not again at this Giro?”

The number

24,375

This is the average age of our riders at the start of this year’s Giro d’Italia. We bring a young team with three first-timers on the roads of the Giro with Clément Champoussin, Lawrence Naesen and Alexis Gougeard all racing their first Giro.

The news

Fourteenth Grand Tour for Gallopin

Tony Gallopin, who will celebrate his 33rd birthday at this year’s Giro, is currently preparing to start his 14th Grand Tour. During his career he won a stage of the Tour de France and has worn the yellow jersey (2014). He has also taken victory at a stage of the Vuelta (2019).

Giro d’Italie (8-30 mai)

Laurent Biondi présente l’équipe qui s’alignera au départ du Giro d’Italia le 3 octobre à Palerme.

FRANCOIS BIDARD

29 ans
5e participation
Meilleurs résultats : 30e général et 6e d’étape (2019)

« François connait bien le Giro et il sera un atout précieux pour ceux qui s’apprêtent à découvrir la course. A l’aise en montagne, il peut se glisser dans une échappée pour viser une victoire d’étape. Il est un élément important de l’équipe dans les moments difficiles d’une course de trois semaines. »

GEOFFREY BOUCHARD

29 ans
2e participation
Meilleurs résultats : 55e et 7e d’étape (2020)

« Passé professionnel sur le tard, Geoffrey avait décroché le maillot de meilleur grimpeur sur la Vuelta 2019 dès son premier Grand Tour. Il arrive sur le Giro dans une excellente condition, comme il a pu le montrer récemment sur le Tour des Alpes (11e). Il peut envisager une victoire d’étape et un bon classement général. »

CLÉMENT CHAMPOUSSIN

22 ans
1ère participation
« Après avoir découvert la Vuelta l’an passé qui comportait 18 étapes, Clément poursuit son apprentissage sur les routes du Giro. Il partira sans objectif précis au classement général même s’il fera partie des coureurs protégés. On a pu voir en début de saison qu’il possédait de belles qualités et le tempérament pour s’imposer chez les professionnels. »

TONY GALLOPIN

32 ans
3e participation
13 victoires chez les professionnels
Meilleur résultat : 2e étape (2019)

« Tony a accumulé les pépins de santé l’an passé. Après un bon hiver, on a pu le voir à l’avant sur certaines courses, notamment le UAE Tour. C’est un garçon d’expérience, un bon capitaine de route et il est encore capable de grandes choses. Après s’être imposé sur le Tour de France et la Vuelta, il rêve d’une victoire au Giro. »

ALEXIS GOUGEARD

28 ans
1ère participation
11 victoires chez les professionnels

« Professionnel depuis 2014, Alexis va découvrir les routes du Giro. Il possède l’expérience des Grands Tours et s’est déjà imposé sur la Vuelta. C’est un garçon généreux qui ne rechigne pas à se lancer dans de grandes échappées. Il peut remporter une victoire d’étape et protéger les coureurs les mieux placés au général.»

LAWRENCE NAESEN

28 ans
1ère participation

« Lawrence s’apprête à découvrir une course de trois semaines. Habitué des classiques du nord, il sera très utile au sein de notre collectif lors des étapes nerveuses pour protéger nos leaders. Ce premier grand tour dans sa carrière devrait lui permettre de passer un palier pour la suite. »

ANDREA VENDRAME

26 ans
4e participation
2 victoires chez les professionnels
Meilleurs résultats : 50e (2020) et 2e d’étape (2019) ;

« Andréa est encore jeune mais il a déjà bouclé trois Giro. Il est déjà passé très proche de la victoire en 2019. L’an passé sur le Giro, on l’avait vu se mêler aux cinq meilleurs sprinters du peloton, mais il est également à l’aise dès que la route s’élève. Il est toujours très motivé par son tour national. »

LARRY WARBASSE

30 ans
4e participation
2 victoires chez les professionnels
Meilleurs résultats : 17e et 5e d’étape (2020)
« Larry a vécu un peu en Italie et il possède un fort attachement à ce pays. L’an passé, il avait réussi un beau Giro en terminant à la 17e place. Il aura à cœur de rééditer ce genre de performance. Par le passé, il a montré qu’il était capable de s’imposer au niveau WorldTour, et pourquoi pas à nouveau sur ce Giro ? »

Le chiffre

24,375

C’est la moyenne d’âge de notre équipe au départ sur les routes du Tour d’Italie. Une équipe jeune qui compte trois débutants sur les routes du Giro avec Clément Champoussin, Lawrence Naesen et Alexis Gougeard.

L'info

Quatorzième Grand Tour pour Gallopin

Tony Gallopin qui fêtera ses 33 ans lors du prochain Giro s’apprête à prendre le départ de son 14e Grand Tour. Au cours de sa carrière il a remporté une étape du Tour de France et porté le maillot jaune (2014), il s’était également imposé sur une étape de la Vuelta (2019).