Grand Prix Cycliste la Marseillaise : Victory for Aurélien Paret-Peintre

AURELIEN PARET-PEINTRE : “The dynamics are working”

“It’s a tough race that I enjoy. Today, we had big team ambitions. When it all came together in the finale, I didn’t quite believe it. By sneaking into the final, I managed to win in this very special sprint. I won my first professional victory for this opening race, so I am happy. Today the group was super homogeneous. We took turns going on the offensive on the Route des Crêtes. After Clément Venturini’s victory in the French Cyclocross Championship, it was important to start the road campaign well. The dynamics are working for AG2R CITROËN TEAM.”AURELIEN PARET-PEINTRE

STEPHANE GOUBERT : “The whole team wins today”

“Our boys rode aggressively. Our leader today for this first event of the season was the AG2R CITROËN TEAM. Everyone was keen to do well in order to show off our new colors. At 500 meters, Aurélien was helping Tony who then dropped his chain, and then Aurélien was able to win all the same! We have already seen at the Giro (16th overall) that Aurélien can do very well, and it allowed him to take a step forward. Today, with this victory, we show the riders already have good understanding among themselves, and the momentum is already in place. We hope this will be the first in a long series of wins.”STEPHANE GOUBERT

The number

3

With the success of Aurélien Paret-Peintre, AG2R CITROËN TEAM has won three of the last four editions of the Grand Prix de la Marseillaise with Alexandre Geniez (2018) and Benoit Cosnefroy (2020).

The news

Leader of the individual and team French Cup

With his victory, Aurélien Paret-Peintre naturally takes the lead of the Coupe de France. In addition to that, with 8th place for Lilian Calmejane and then 13th for Tony Gallopin, AG2R CITROËN TEAM takes the lead of the Coupe de France team classification. Next event: Classic Loire Atlantique (March 27).

Grand Prix Cycliste la Marseillaise : Victoire d’Aurélien Paret-Peintre !

AURELIEN PARET-PEINTRE : “La dynamique est enclenchée”

“C’est une course difficile que j’apprécie. Aujourd’hui, on avait des grosses ambitions collectives. Lorsque ça s’est regroupé dans le final, je n’y croyais pas trop. En me faufilant, j’ai réussi à m’imposer sur ce sprint très spécial. Je remporte ma première victoire professionnelle pour cette ouverture, je suis heureux. Aujourd’hui, le groupe était super homogène. On a été offensif à tour de rôle sur la route des Crêtes. Après la victoire de Clément Venturini au Championnat de France de Cyclo-cross, il était important de bien débuter sur la route. La dynamique est enclenchée pour AG2R CITROËN TEAM.”AURELIEN PARET-PEINTRE

STEPHANE GOUBERT : “C’est toute l’équipe qui gagne aujourd’hui”

“Nos garçons ont été offensifs. Notre leader aujourd’hui pour cette première épreuve de la saison c’était AG2R CITROËN TEAM. Tout le monde avait à cœur de bien faire pour montrer nos nouvelles couleurs. A 500 mètres, Aurélien aide Tony qui était en train de dérailler et il gagne tout de même ! On voit que le Giro (16e du général) a fait du bien à Aurélien, ça lui a permis de passer un cap. On montre aujourd’hui avec cette victoire la bonne entente, la dynamique déjà en place. On souhaite que ce soit la première d’une longue série.”STEPHANE GOUBERT

Le chiffre

3

Avec le succès d’Aurélien Paret-Peintre, AG2R CITROËN TEAM a remporté trois des quatre dernières éditions du Grand Prix de la Marseillaise avec Alexandre Geniez (2018) et Benoit Cosnefroy (2020).

L'info

Leader de la Coupe de France individuelle et par équipes

Avec sa victoire, Aurélien Paret-Peintre prend logiquement la tête de la Coupe de France. Avec la 8e place de Lilian Calmejane et la 13e de Tony Gallopin, AG2R CITROËN TEAM prend la tête de la Coupe de France par équipes. Prochaine épreuve : Classic Loire Atlantique (27 mars).