La Vuelta 2021

Julien Jurdie: « Make it a hat-trick »

“The AG2R CITROËN TEAM has won stages this year at the Tour de France (Ben O’Connor) and the Giro d’Italia (Andrea Vendrame). And the definite objective now is to secure a stage victory in this 2021 La Vuelta. Working well as a team will be the key; each rider will have a part to play by making himself available to the group. And depending on the stage profile, each rider will also have the chance to ride for the win on the days that suit his characteristics.”

Julien Jurdie presents the squad of eight riders:

GEOFFREY BOUCHARD

29 years old – France
2nd participation
King of the Mountains at La Vuelta 2019

“Geoffrey will be one of our protected riders for La Vuelta 2021. With his strengths as a climber, the objective is to aim for a stage victory. Geoffrey will also focus on being well placed in the overall classification, which is part of the DNA of the AG2R CITROËN TEAM.”

LILIAN CALMEJANE

29 years old – France
2nd participation
Winner of the 4th stage at La Vuelta 2016

“Lilian has already won stages at the Grand Tour (a stage victory in the Tour de France and a victory at La Vuelta). He will be a prime card for our team to win a stage on those hilly days with his puncher qualities. He arrives at this race with a lot of freshness and desire. “

CLÉMENT CHAMPOUSSIN

23 years old – France
2nd participation
10th on a stage (2020)

“After racing La Vuelta for the first time last year, Clément will be starting this Grand Tour for the second year in a row. He arrives without pressure but with the will to secure a stage victory. Protected by his teammates, he will be an important part of the collective. La Vuelta is a good place to continue learning and working for the future.”

MIKAEL CHEREL

35 years old – France
6th participation
4th on a stage (2015)

“Mika will be our road captain for this Vuelta. He has a great deal of experience which will be important in guiding our younger riders. He has taken part in fourteen Grands Tours and has a perfect command of the workings and management of the three-week races. He will also take the opportunity to try to slip into a breakaway to play for the win. ”

STAN DEWULF

23 years old – Belgium
2nd participation
9th stage (2020)

“Comfortable recently at the Tour de Wallonie with a second place overall, Stan has great puncher qualities to be at the front of the race and aim for a stage victory. He is a very important rider for the collective and despite his young age, he has a solid amount of experience.”

NICOLAS PRODHOMME

24 years old – France
1st participation

“Nicolas is getting ready for his first Grand Tour. He will learn how to manage a three-week race and gain experience for the rest of his career. He will be aggressive in the mountains when the opportunity arises and will work for the squad to meet the objectives of the AG2R CITROËN TEAM. “

DAMIEN TOUZÉ

25 years old – France
2nd participation
11th on a stage (2019)

“After his beautiful 3rd place in the French Championship this year, Damien comes to the start of his second La Vuelta with an aggressive mindset. He has a very good sense of the race, and he can jostle well at the front. His qualities as a fast finisher are an asset for winning on the stages that correspond to his profile. “

CLÉMENT VENTURINI

27 years old – France
2nd participation
5th on a stage (2019)

“Clément is very fast. He has a nice burst of speed to be at the front of the pack during the mass sprints. He can also certainly insert himself into a breakaway and go for a stage victory that way. He is an important rider for the dynamics of the group.”

The number

26,8

This is the average age of our team at the start. It’s a young team that has one beginner on the roads of La Vuelta with Nicolas Prodhomme.

La Vuelta 2021

Julien Jurdie: « La passe de trois »

“« L’équipe AG2R CITROËN s’est imposée cette année sur les routes du Tour de France (Ben O’Connor) et du Giro d’Italia (Andrea Vendrame). L’objectif affiché est de décrocher une victoire d’étape sur cette Vuelta 2021. Le collectif sera la clé, chaque coureur aura une partition à jouer en se mettant à la disposition du groupe. Chacun pourra s’exprimer en fonction des profils d’étapes pour aller lever les bras. »

La sélection présentée par Julien Jurdie

GEOFFREY BOUCHARD

29 ans – France
2e participation
Meilleur grimpeur de la Vuelta 2019

« Geoffrey sera l’un de nos coureurs protégés sur cette Vuelta 2021. Avec ses qualités de grimpeur, l’objectif est de viser une victoire d’étape. Geoffrey s’attachera également d’être bien placé au classement général, ce qui fait partie de l’ADN de l’équipe AG2R CITROËN.»

LILIAN CALMEJANE

29 ans – France
2e participation
Victoire de la 4e étape de la Vuelta 2016

« Lilian s’est déjà imposé sur un grand tour (une victoire d’étape sur le Tour de France et une victoire sur La Vuelta). Il sera une carte maitresse de notre collectif pour remporter une étape sur son terrain de jeu avec ses qualités de puncheur. Il arrive sur cette course avec beaucoup de fraicheur et d’envie. »

CLÉMENT CHAMPOUSSIN

23 ans – France
2e participation
10e d’étape (2020)

« Après avoir découvert La Vuelta l’an passé, Clément prendra le départ de ce grand tour pour la seconde année consécutive. Il arrive sans pression mais avec la volonté de décrocher une victoire d’étape. Protégé par ses coéquipiers, il sera un élément important du collectif. La Vuelta est un bon exercice pour poursuivre son apprentissage et travailler pour l’avenir. »

MIKAEL CHEREL

35 ans – France
6e participation
4e d’étape (2015)

« Mika sera notre capitaine de route sur cette Vuelta. Il possède une grande expérience qui sera importante pour guider nos jeunes. Il a pris part à quatorze grands tours et maitrise parfaitement les rouages et la gestion des courses de trois semaines. Il saisira l’opportunité de se glisser dans une échappée pour jouer la gagne. »

STAN DEWULF

23 ans – Belgique
2e participation
9e d’étape (2020)

« À l’aise récemment au Tour de Wallonie avec une deuxième place au classement général, Stan possède de belles qualités de puncheur pour être à l’avant et viser une victoire d’étape. C’est un coureur très important pour le collectif et malgré son jeune âge, il dispose une solide expérience. »

NICOLAS PRODHOMME

24 ans – France
1ère participation

« Nicolas s’apprête à disputer son premier grand tour. Il va découvrir la gestion d’une course de trois semaines et emmagasiner de l’expérience pour la suite de sa carrière. Il sera offensif en montagne quand l’occasion se présente et se mettra au service du collectif pour remplir les objectifs de l’équipe AG2R CITROËN. »

DAMIEN TOUZÉ

25 ans – France
2e participation
11e d’étape (2019)

« Après sa belle 3e place au Championnat de France cette année, Damien se présente au départ de sa deuxième Vuelta avec un esprit offensif. Il possède un très bon sens de la course, il frotte bien. Ses qualités de finisseurs sont un atout pour jouer la gagne sur les étapes qui correspondent à son profil. »

CLÉMENT VENTURINI

27 ans – France
2e participation
5e d’étape (2019)

« Clément va vite, il possède une belle pointe de vitesse pour faire partie de l’emballage final lors des sprints massifs. En se projetant à l’avant dans une échappée, il pourra également viser une victoire d’étape. C’est un garçon important pour la dynamique du groupe. »

Le chiffre

26,8

C’est la moyenne d’âge de notre équipe au départ. Une équipe jeune qui compte un débutant sur les routes de La Vuelta avec Nicolas Prodhomme).