Ronde Van Vlaanderen: Greg Van Avermaet takes 3rd

GREG VAN AVERMAET : “This was the goal for the race”

“Even if I did not have the same legs as in A Travers la Flandre (Dwars door Vlaanderen) on Wednesday, I managed to be at the front in the end. With my experience in this race, I succeeded in getting onto the podium. I know that at a classic like the Ronde Van Vlaanderen after 254 kilometers of racing, I still have resources at the end. The podium was the goal for the day, so I have no regrets today. I am happy to take my first podium at AG2R CITROËN TEAM, which has invested a lot in the Flanders classics. The whole team worked well this winter, we are happy to race together, and we work well together.”GREG VAN AVERMAET

JULIEN JURDIE : “A champion’s character”

“We went through all the emotions today. The team was well placed in the first kilometers. The DQing of Michael Schär destabilized the group. Nevertheless, Greg never gave up. He was always racing at the front. He knew how to plug the holes to get back into position. He showed again today what a champion’s character he has. We were going for our first podium at this race, and it was a great day to be involved! After having taken podiums at E3 and Gent Wevelgem, we manage now to include ourselves among the top three in the world’s greatest classic. We can be proud today, and it gives us a lot of motivation for the future.”JULIEN JURDIE

The number

4

Since 2014, Greg van Avermaet has participated seven times at the Ronde Van Vlaanderen. He has finished four times on the podium. Second in 2014 and 2017, he finished third at the 2015 edition and now again 3rd in 2021.

The news

Third for Sarreau at the Roue Tourangelle

Marc Sarreau earned his first podium of the season by taking 3rd place at the Roue Tourangelle, the third race in the Coupe de France series. “With the wind, it was pretty tense all day. Despite this, we had a good race as a team. And on the line, I simply was beaten by two riders who were faster. This is my first podium of the season. My form is not yet optimal, but it gives me motivation for the future. ”
In the ranking of the Coupe de France, Aurélien Paret-Peintre is 3rd (and the best young rider), while Marc Sarreau is 5th. We are still in the lead for the team classification.

Ronde Van Vlaanderen : Greg Van Avermaet 3e

GREG VAN AVERMAET : “C’était l’objectif du jour”

“Même si je n’avais pas les mêmes jambes que lors d’A Travers la Flandre mercredi, j’ai réussi à être présent dans le final. Avec mon expérience sur cette course, j’ai réussi à accrocher le podium. Je sais que sur une classique comme le Ronde Van Vlaanderen avec 254 kilomètres, j’ai encore des ressources en fin de course. Le podium était l’objectif du jour, je n’ai aucun regret aujourd’hui. Je suis heureux d’apporter ce premier podium à AG2R CITROËN TEAM qui a beaucoup investi sur les Classiques flandriennes. Toute l’équipe a bien travaillé cet hiver, nous sommes heureux de courir ensemble et cela fonctionne.”GREG VAN AVERMAET

JULIEN JURDIE : “Un caractère de champion”

“Nous sommes passés par tous les sentiments aujourd’hui. Le groupe était bien en place dans les premiers kilomètres. L’exclusion de Michael Schär a déstabilisé le groupe. Dans le même temps, Greg n’a jamais renoncé, il a toujours été de l’avant. Il a su boucher les trous pour revenir. Il a un caractère de champion et il l’a montré encore aujourd’hui. On va chercher notre premier podium sur cette course, c’était un grand moment de vivre cela ! Après des podiums au E3, Gent Wevelgem, on parvient à s’inviter parmi les trois meilleurs de la plus grande classique du monde. On peut être fier et ça donne beaucoup de motivation pour la suite.”JULIEN JURDIE

Le chiffre

4

Depuis 2014, Greg Van Avermaet a participé à sept reprises au Ronde Van Vlaanderen. Il a terminé quatre fois sur le podium. Deuxième en 2014 et 2017, il a terminé troisième lors de l’édition 2015 et donc 2021

L’info

Sarreau troisième sur la Roue Tourangelle

Marc Sarreau a signé son premier podium de la saison en prenant la 3e place de la Roue Tourangelle, troisième épreuve de la Coupe de France. “Avec le vent, c’était un peu tendu toute la journée. Malgré ça, nous avons fait une bonne course d’équipe. Et sur la ligne, je suis battu par plus fort que moi. C’est mon premier podium de la saison, la forme n’est pas encore optimale mais ça donne de la motivation pour la suite”. Au classement de la Coupe de France, Aurélien Paret-Peintre est 3e (leader des jeunes), Marc Sarreau 5e. Nous menons toujours le classement par équipes.