Tour de Wallonie : Stan Dewulf takes 2nd overall

Stan Dewulf : « Happy with my condition »

«I returned to racing at Tour de Wallonie after having not raced since June 20 at the Belgian Championships. I did do a three and a half week training camp in Livigno (Italy), but I still did not expect to have this condition after such a long period of training. I finished this Tour de Wallonie only 4 seconds from the overall victory; it’s a little and a lot at the same time! I might have needed a harder stage to try something, but that’s it. It’s motivating for the rest of the season. I will participate in the Arctic Race of Norway (August 5-8) before the Vuelta a Espana (14 / 08-05 / 09). This will be my second participation in a three week tour. I hope that it will help me to be in good shape for the end of the season events, especially Paris-Roubaix.»Stan

The number

2

Having joined AG2R CITROËN TEAM at the start of the season, Stan Dewulf has just posted his best result so far wearing our jersey. He has not stood on a stage racing podium since his second place in the Tour de Bretagne in 2018.

The news

Second in the bet young rider classification

Stan Dewulf also finished the Tour de Wallonie in second place in the youth classification. Alexis Gougeard finished third in the king of the mountain classification. He was also crowned the most aggressive rider of the first stage.

Tour de Wallonie : Stan Dewulf deuxième classement final

Stan Dewulf : « Content de ma condition »

«Le Tour de Wallonie était ma reprise, je n’avais pas couru depuis le 20 juin lors du Championnat de Belgique. J’ai pu effectuer un stage de plus de trois semaines à Livigno (Italie), et je ne m’attendais pas à avoir cette condition après une telle période d’entraînement. Je termine ce Tour de Wallonie à 4’’ de la victoire, c’est peu et beaucoup à la fois ! Il aurait peut-être fallu une étape plus difficile pour tenter quelque chose mais c’est comme ça. C’est motivant pour la suite de la saison. Je vais participer à l’Artic Race Of Norway (5-8 août) avant la Vuelta a Espana (14/08-05/09). Cela sera ma deuxième participation à une épreuve de trois semaines. J’espère que cela me servira pour être en forme sur les épreuves de fin de saison et notamment Paris-Roubaix.»Stan

Le chiffre

2

Arrivé en début de saison au sein de l’équipe AG2R CITROËN, Stan Dewulf signe son meilleur résultat avec notre maillot. Il n’était plus monté sur un podium de course par étapes depuis sa deuxième place au Tour de Bretagne en 2018.

L’info

Deuxième du classement des jeunes

Stan Dewulf termine également le Tour de Wallonie à la deuxième place du classement des jeunes. Alexis Gougeard termine troisième du classement de la montagne. Il avait notamment été sacré plus combatif de la première étape.