Ronde Van Vlaanderen (April 4th)

GREG VAN AVERMAET : “A good day”

“It was a good day, we had a good race. Stan was with me after the Taaienberg, and it was good to be two. We tried to be aggressive behind Van Baarle, but without success. We couldn’t pull him back and when the peloton caught up to us, we couldn’t hope for more. I’m pretty happy with my day and hope to keep this form until Sunday which is my big goal.”GREG VAN AVERMAET

The number

3

Greg Van Avermaet has stepped onto the podium three times at the Ronde Van Vlaanderen. Second in 2014 and 2017, he finished third in 2005. He also finished the race in 5th place in 2008 after finishing the 2012 edition in 4th place.

The news

Recon on Friday

AG2R CITROËN TEAM will carry out a reconnaissance of the main cobbled sectors of the Ronde Van Vlaanderen on Friday, April 2, from Oudenaarde: “The reconnaissance is always an important moment. The guys know the climbs very well, but it is essential to review them 48 hours before this important event. The Koppenberg is climbed only during the Ronde, so it is important to return there and refresh the memory. It also makes it possible to adjust the equipment accordingly,” explained Julien Jurdie (sporting director).

Tour des Flandres (4 avril)

GREG VAN AVERMAET : “Une bonne journée”

“C’était une bonne journée, nous avons fait une belle course. Stan était avec moi après le Taaienberg, c’était bien d’être à deux. Nous avons essayé d’être offensif derrière Van Baarle mais sans succès. Nous n’avons pas pu revenir sur lui et quand le peloton est rentré, ce n’était pas possible de faire mieux. Je suis plutôt satisfait et j’espère garder cette forme jusqu’à dimanche qui est mon grand objectif.”GREG VAN AVERMAET

Le chiffre

3

Greg Van Avermaet compte trois podiums sur le Ronde Van Vlaanderen. Deuxième en 2014 et 2017, il a terminé troisième en 2005. Il a également bouclé l’épreuve à la 5e place en 2008 alors qu’il avait conclu l’édition 2012 au 4e rang.

L’info

Reconnaissance vendredi

AG2R CITROËN TEAM va effectuer une reconnaissance des principaux secteurs pavés du Ronde Van Vlaanderen vendredi 2 avril au départ de Oudenaarde : “La reconnaissance est toujours un moment important. Les gars connaissent très bien les Monts, mais il est primordial de se les remémorer 48 heures avant cette immense course. Le Koppenberg n’est escaladé que lors du Ronde, ce n’est donc pas anodin d’y retourner. Cela permet aussi d’effectuer les réglages du matériel”, explique
Julien Jurdie (directeur sportif).