Volta Ciclista Catalunya (March 22-28)

FRANÇOIS BIDARD : “A beautiful week in the mountains”

“The Volta Ciclista Catalunya is a difficult race that I love. I was at the UAE Tour, and even if that race does not necessarily match my strengths, I was happy to return to the atmosphere of the competition and get back into a race rhythm. I recovered well and the training camp in Catalunya with the team allowed us to string together many training rides in super weather conditions. We have even been able to reconnoiter the final of the stage that leads to Vallter 2000. I cannot wait to be there.”FRANÇOIS BIDARD

The number

3586

During the training camp in Catalunya, our riders previewed the last forty kilometers of the 3rd stage (March 24) of the Volta Ciclista Catalunya, which will finish in Vallter 2000. Their training ride was 181 kilometers with 3586 meters of climbing.

The news

A first for Champoussin and Hänninen

After finishing second at the Faun Ardèche Classic and 4th at the Trofeo Laigueglia, Clément Champoussin will participate for the first time in the Volta Ciclista Catalunya, which will also be his first WorldTour race of the season. Jaakko Hänninen, who has been a professional since August 2019, will also be participating in the Spanish race for the first time.

Volta Ciclista Catalunya (22-28 mars)

FRANÇOIS BIDARD : “Une belle semaine en montagne”

“Le Tour de Catalogne est une épreuve difficile que j’affectionne. J’étais au UAE Tour, et même si la course ne me correspond pas forcément, J’étais heureux de retrouver l’ambiance de la course et de me remettre dans le rythme. J’ai bien récupéré et le stage en Catalogne avec l’équipe nous a permis d’enchaîner les sorties dans de super conditions. Nous avons même pu reconnaître le final de l’étape qui mène à Vallter 2000. J’ai hâte d’y être.”FRANÇOIS BIDARD

Le chiffre

3586

Lors du stage en Catalogne, nos coureurs ont reconnu les quarante derniers kilomètres de la 3e étape (24 mars) du Tour de Catalogne dont l’arrivée sera jugée à Vallter 2000. Ils ont effectué une sortie de 181 kilomètres pour 3586 mètres de dénivelé.

L'info

Première pour Champoussin et Hänninen

Après avoir terminé deuxième de la Faun Ardèche Classic et 4e du Trofeo Laigueglia, Clément Champoussin va participer pour la première fois au Tour de Catalogne et effectuer par la même occasion ses débuts en UCI WorldTour cette saison. Professionnel depuis août 2019, Jaakko Hänninen s’apprête lui aussi à participer à la course espagnole pour la première fois.